Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Balti Seitan Madras Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balti Seitan Madras

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      This was delicious! I have made it a couple times now, and the second time around I used Quorn brand fake chicken instead, because I don't like the taste of seitan. It turned out great! I also added some fresh cilantro, and squeezed a little lime over the top when served. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Yum, this is great. I kept mostly to the recipe except that I used red chile flakes instead of the green chiles. Loved the spice mixture and how quicjk and easy it was to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This was very good! Served with quinoa. I made it with homemade seitan, and omitted the chili because of the kids. The flavor was very bright, all our tongues were numb after eating it... weird. But we all enjoyed it. Next time I will cut back on the ginger and the lemon juice. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made this dish and it was AWESOME!! Very easy to make and my boyfriend who eats meat liked it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      Fantastic! So delicious and flavorful. I cooked it in my pure clay pot and my family loved it. This one is going on my recipe book. The food cooked in pure clay cookware tastes the best and is healthier too. The special steam locker lid seal all the nutrients in and give a healthier food. I got mine from mecware.US (online)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

    • on May 22, 2010

      Served this over some steamed brown rice and made my own homemade seitan. I really liked it. It was easy and quick. Strongly flavored but not spicy. Not my husbands favorite, but he liked it. My 5 year old loved it and asked for seconds. EDIT - made this last night and did some things differently. First, I made two separate batches. For the first batch (for my daughter and I) I used two serrano peppers and cooked them with the onions to take out some of the spice. For the second batch (for my husband, who likes things really spicy) I used two habanero peppers, one I cooked with the onions, the other I added in at the end. Five stars from all of us this time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Good recipe! I like my curry spicy but I cut back a bit on the chilies (I used jalapeno). I think if I make it again I will also toss in a handful of chipped cilantro. I put this one in my cookbook and It'll definitely be hitting the table again in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balti Seitan Madras

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    47%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 693.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seitan

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites