Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Carrot Soup Indienne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carrot Soup Indienne

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2011

      I don't write a lot of reviews but today, I must. I've just made this soup for my husband and landlord who are out in the garden cleaning up and harvesting. They tend to like a liquid lunch (not the healthy kind) and I decided they needed a healthier lunch. This was a smash hit! It's tasty. It's got a bit of a kick, but not so much that I couldn't handle it (I prefer to actually taste my food) and it's gorgeous! I made it as written with two substitutions; I had no celery in the house (a rare occurrence) and used a handful of lovage leaves instead (I have lovage in my garden and it has great celery flavour). Also, instead of soya sauce, I added some salt and about a teaspoon of Better Than Bouillon chicken bouillon base. Oh, and like some others, I never use potato flakes so that was left out; in all honesty, I don't think it needed it. I will definitely be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      another great soup from our famous Zaar soup king! I used carrots from my garden which I think really brought the flavor out, made as stated only I used half and half cream and milk, increased the cayenne pepper, the flavors in this soup are simply outstanding and I look forward to making this again soon, thanks Uncle Bill (our Zaar soup king!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Very tasty. I didn't bother with the potato flakes, but added a little corn starch to the milk before adding it. I might skip the soya sauce next time, simply because it makes it a rather unattractive brown colour instead of the nice orange of carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      FANTASTIQUE! This recipe my curiosity did peak! Spicy but not hot, This REALLY hit the spot! THANKS UNCLE BILL! A WINNER HERE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Hi William, I haven't made this yet, but will be making it this week. I know it will be good because of the veggies and spices you have listed. I noticed some people didn't use the potato flakes, and I believe the reason it has been added is to thicken the soup a bit and also add a bit more creaminess to the soup. I have done that myself for certain soups. Thank you for the recipe!! Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2004

      I don't know if I did something wrong or if this just wasn't to my taste, but I wasn't particularly impressed with this soup. I left out the cayenne because the grocery store was out and left out the potato flakes because I never have those on hand. I'm not submitting stars because it could be that my curry has just lost its potency or something, but this was just sort of flat and I wasn't crazy about the texture, but that's just me. After it was done I had a taste, then added a generous sprinkle of salt and more garlic which seemed to improve it. I'm going to feed it to my curry-loving friend and get her opinion too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Very good. Husband liked it very much & kept commenting on how good it was. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      TEN stars! Uncle Bill! Heavenly! I had a few little chunks of the veggies that didn't get blended but it just made it taste that much better. (Mmmmmm MMmmmm) :) You are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      DH and I found this soup absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing except leave out the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any! Not too hot for me (I'm a wuss) and it defintely won over my hubby on his birthday. Thanx Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      We enjoyed this soup. I substituted vegetable broth for the water and used 2 cupes of fat free half and half instead of the whole milk. I skipped the instant potato flakes (I didn't have any). I also used a little less garam masala, curry powder and cayenne. We still thought it was spicy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      i am on a low carb diet so i dont get to eat a lot of soups but this one is a dream and low carb i will be haveing it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carrot Soup Indienne

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.0
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    15%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 304.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes