Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Cauliflower and Tomato Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cauliflower and Tomato Curry

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2003

      This is the curry for me these days! I served this alongside some grilled chicken breast and had a cool cucumber and dill salad on the side. I made enough that I have a nice big Tupperware full for lunch in the office today. The only change I made was to add about 3 gloves of coarsely chopped garlic and a handful of Hungarian paprika. This dish is very versatile, you can add pieces of meat or fish to it to make it more of a main dish than a veggie side dish. I'm going to try it again very soon with some pieces of marinated chicken breast in there, should be delish! Thanks Annelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      This is a wonderful curry. I used a combo of 1 cup greenpeas, a small cauliflower(cut into florets) and 2 tins of mushrooms(drained) and chopped into halves. I used mushrooms mainly because my mom was in a despo mood to have mushrooms for dinner tonight. She was actually craving for a mushroom-peas curry. I followed Momma Mirj and used 3 cloves of garlic. I did cut down on the oil by 1 tbsp..(I used 2 tbsps. only instead of 3). I did substitute the paprika with black pepper. For the stock, I immersed 2 cubes of Maggi vegetable stock with onions in 1 1/4 cups of water, boiled it until the cubes were totally dissolved in the broth and used it as required in the recipe. I did use a total of 1 tsp. and a little over half a tsp. of salt. Using freshly ground spices imparts so much more flavour to the dish, so that is something I'd like to mention that I used all freshly ground spices. You are so right when you say this is "nicely spiced". Its just great as it is! I loved the red colour of the curry and its aroma while it was cooking. This goes so well with hot Basmati rice. Made for a great meal for us and we did need one so much since we are going through a tough hour at the moment with my Grandmom's health being so low since a few days... The bottom line is that this made a great vegetarian dish and a wonderful dinner! THANK U so much for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      It is very good and tasty dish I want tosay that if we add green peas in it I think then it will look more attractive and more tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      Loved this recipe. I did change it a bit to reflect what I had on hand and personal preferences. I used one Fresno pepper instead of green chilies, coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and turkey broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added leftover chunks of turkey from another meal. I'm not sure I would like it so much without meat or at least lentils. With the protein added it makes a pretty good meal alone. I also skipped tomato paste just because I didn't want to open a can. It's yummy yummy yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      I made this when I was trying to use up some of my tomatoes, and it was really good. I added some frozen shrimp (because I was trying to use that up too) and didn't do the onion ring thing at the end. I didn't think it needed it. Even the kids liked it, (and they normally don't touch tomatoes!) I served it with rice, naan bread, and a lentil curry. Will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I am not going to give this any stars, because I left off the fried onions and the cilantro, both of which I think are probably very important to "make" this dish. All in all, it turned out well- nice flavors, although I am with the other reviewers who found it a bit watery, and I even used less liquid than called for. I though that the wateriness made the spices taste a little milder than they truly would. All-in-all it turned out well though, a very pretty dish with golden cauliflower in an orange sauce sparked with bright red tomatoes. I got really, really confused at step three where it says "puree"- you see, I read this as a verb, not as a noun, as it should be (refering to the tomato puree called for in the recipe) and I sat at the table for quite a few minutes trying to figure out why in the world I would puree this and how the next step (cook til tender) would make sense if this were pureed. Anyhow, just my anecdotes... :) I am looking forward to trying this again with the cilantro and fried onions- we're big fans of Indian food and cauliflower. I will however, try using less liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I really wanted to like this, but the flavors were washed-out tasting. My spices are fresh, so I'm not sure why it wasn't more flavorful. I left out the chili pepper, so I didn't expect it to be spicy at all, but I expected the other seasonings to result in a more flavorful curry. I added garlic, and topped with toasted cashews. The cashews were a nice addition for those of you who enjoy them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I am new to this site, but just tried this recipe using the garlic and peas. At the end of cooking I was left with lots of liquid so I added some corn starch thickener. I had halved the ingredients since there are just the two of us and we both agreed the flavour was fantastic. I used bread to soak up the juice so it would also be good over rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      I made this a few months ago, and totally forgot to post a review for it eeek!! It was sooooo delicious!!! I took mirj's advice and added the garlic the 2nd time I made this, just for a change in flavor. It was excellent both times I made this. I will be making it again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe :-) It was such a beautiful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This curry was yummy. I'm a tough reviewer of curries as we eat so many, so I find it hard to give a 5, but this came pretty close. I added the peas as suggested, and we ate this with Rogan Josh #41651 and steamed rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cauliflower and Tomato Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.9
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    49%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 368.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes