10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the curry for me these days! I served this alongside some grilled chicken breast and had a cool cucumber and dill salad on the side. I made enough that I have a nice big Tupperware full for lunch in the office today. The only change I made was to add about 3 gloves of coarsely chopped garlic and a handful of Hungarian paprika. This dish is very versatile, you can add pieces of meat or fish to it to make it more of a main dish than a veggie side dish. I'm going to try it again very soon with some pieces of marinated chicken breast in there, should be delish! Thanks Annelies!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj April 12, 2003

This is a wonderful curry. I used a combo of 1 cup greenpeas, a small cauliflower(cut into florets) and 2 tins of mushrooms(drained) and chopped into halves. I used mushrooms mainly because my mom was in a despo mood to have mushrooms for dinner tonight. She was actually craving for a mushroom-peas curry. I followed Momma Mirj and used 3 cloves of garlic. I did cut down on the oil by 1 tbsp..(I used 2 tbsps. only instead of 3). I did substitute the paprika with black pepper. For the stock, I immersed 2 cubes of Maggi vegetable stock with onions in 1 1/4 cups of water, boiled it until the cubes were totally dissolved in the broth and used it as required in the recipe. I did use a total of 1 tsp. and a little over half a tsp. of salt. Using freshly ground spices imparts so much more flavour to the dish, so that is something I'd like to mention that I used all freshly ground spices. You are so right when you say this is "nicely spiced". Its just great as it is! I loved the red colour of the curry and its aroma while it was cooking. This goes so well with hot Basmati rice. Made for a great meal for us and we did need one so much since we are going through a tough hour at the moment with my Grandmom's health being so low since a few days... The bottom line is that this made a great vegetarian dish and a wonderful dinner! THANK U so much for sharing a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 30, 2003

It is very good and tasty dish I want tosay that if we add green peas in it I think then it will look more attractive and more tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geetu midha April 22, 2003

Loved this recipe. I did change it a bit to reflect what I had on hand and personal preferences. I used one Fresno pepper instead of green chilies, coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and turkey broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added leftover chunks of turkey from another meal. I'm not sure I would like it so much without meat or at least lentils. With the protein added it makes a pretty good meal alone. I also skipped tomato paste just because I didn't want to open a can. It's yummy yummy yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nourishing My Life October 10, 2012

I made this when I was trying to use up some of my tomatoes, and it was really good. I added some frozen shrimp (because I was trying to use that up too) and didn't do the onion ring thing at the end. I didn't think it needed it. Even the kids liked it, (and they normally don't touch tomatoes!) I served it with rice, naan bread, and a lentil curry. Will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ppaperdoll April 16, 2005

I am not going to give this any stars, because I left off the fried onions and the cilantro, both of which I think are probably very important to "make" this dish. All in all, it turned out well- nice flavors, although I am with the other reviewers who found it a bit watery, and I even used less liquid than called for. I though that the wateriness made the spices taste a little milder than they truly would. All-in-all it turned out well though, a very pretty dish with golden cauliflower in an orange sauce sparked with bright red tomatoes. I got really, really confused at step three where it says "puree"- you see, I read this as a verb, not as a noun, as it should be (refering to the tomato puree called for in the recipe) and I sat at the table for quite a few minutes trying to figure out why in the world I would puree this and how the next step (cook til tender) would make sense if this were pureed. Anyhow, just my anecdotes... :) I am looking forward to trying this again with the cilantro and fried onions- we're big fans of Indian food and cauliflower. I will however, try using less liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie December 30, 2004

I really wanted to like this, but the flavors were washed-out tasting. My spices are fresh, so I'm not sure why it wasn't more flavorful. I left out the chili pepper, so I didn't expect it to be spicy at all, but I expected the other seasonings to result in a more flavorful curry. I added garlic, and topped with toasted cashews. The cashews were a nice addition for those of you who enjoy them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe January 23, 2004

I am new to this site, but just tried this recipe using the garlic and peas. At the end of cooking I was left with lots of liquid so I added some corn starch thickener. I had halved the ingredients since there are just the two of us and we both agreed the flavour was fantastic. I used bread to soak up the juice so it would also be good over rice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Lazenby July 28, 2003

I made this a few months ago, and totally forgot to post a review for it eeek!! It was sooooo delicious!!! I took mirj's advice and added the garlic the 2nd time I made this, just for a change in flavor. It was excellent both times I made this. I will be making it again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe :-) It was such a beautiful dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary May 25, 2003

This curry was yummy. I'm a tough reviewer of curries as we eat so many, so I find it hard to give a 5, but this came pretty close. I added the peas as suggested, and we ate this with Rogan Josh #41651 and steamed rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 16, 2003
Cauliflower and Tomato Curry