Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Creamy Lentil "risotto" (Kichdi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Lentil "risotto" (Kichdi)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2010

      I have made this twice now. The first time I made this, I didn't add any veggies and it was okay, but not outstanding. This time, I added carrots, potatoes, and peas (peas at the very last second) and it was wonderful. I didn't grow up eating Indian food, so I can't compare it to other dishes, but I love lentils and am always looking for new ways to prepare them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This brings back memories! My Mum used to make Khichdi too when we were kids. I had some veggies (carrots and cauliflowers) in a bowl on the side that I wanted to add in the last 10-15 mins of the cooking time, which I forgot about. So I had to add in some more water for the veggies which made it super mushy! It's completely my fault. But it tasted great nevertheless! And my DD loved it too! Thank you, eatrealfood, for sharing this wonderful recipe, I will definitely be making it again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Sorry, but none of us liked it. Despite all the great spices, it just was too bland. Maybe I did something wrong....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Comfort food at it's finest! This was absolutely delicious. I cooked it in lots of butter and lots of water so that it was really mushy. Before serving I stirred in more melted butter just to make it a bit richer. I left out the cloves because I'm not too keen on them. Thanks Varsha for reminding me just why I love Khichdi so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      I just love this rice preparation! All the time making it I kept thinking I would need an accompaniment with it, but I added some potatoes and carrots as per your suggestion and it was excellent as is, I kept eating. The hint about adding butter is a bit wicked though, since I added more than a "dab". Much easier to make than it looks too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      I made this using the mixture of lentils/dals listed in the recipe. I really liked it - it was easy to make and had a lot of flavour for so few ingredients. I added some broccoli florets to the rice mixture near the end of it's cooking time. Thanks Varsha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This was not very impressive as though it is pretty easy to make, it tastes like South Indian Pongal. The only extra addition is the whole spices which actually does not go well with moong dal in anyway. Sorry for the 2 stars, but I guess it will go down well with people who have not tasted Pongal but not for the real South Indian food afficondos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This is just awesome. I could (and have) eat it all by itself even without any accompaniments. Growing up in south India, I was not familiar with this dish till now - but it's my favorite Indian rice dish now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      MMMMM..I have always made khichdi with masooor and toor dal. This is the first time i added mung and it was really really melt-in-your-mouth comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Lentil "risotto" (Kichdi)

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    36%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 13.1 mg
    4%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes