Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Goan Beef Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Goan Beef Curry

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      Excellent beef curry, and a wonderful addition to an Indian banquet. I made this with rump steak, so it was tender within 40 minutes. Because my lid wasn't very tight-fitting, I was almost out of liquid by then, so I added a bit extra coconut milk. I have a big crop of fresh Thai hot chillies, so used those in place of the chilli powder. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Very good, served with Thai Sticky Rice With Nam Pla and Coconut Milk and Mango Lassi Yogurt Pops for an Indian menu. Made for ZWT 6. Thanks you Paula for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Loved this, and wouldn't change a thing! It's definitely one of the better beef curries that I've tried. I made this a day in advance as I usually do with curries, and the flavors really mellowed and deepened after a night in the fridge. Delicious- thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      YUM! I did make half the amount of meat but kept the rest of the ingredients the same.
      Made for ZWT #8 Lively Lemon Lovelies. Namaste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Oh my, this was super delicious. I really enjoyed the blend of spices and flavors going on in this dish. I serve it over rice as suggested in the directions, and the sauce really flavored the plain basmati rice quite nicely. This dish was the highlight of my week. Thank you for sharing your recipe, PaulaG. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Very good, lots of flavors and super easy to make. I served over rice but really wished I had made some Indian bread to go with it. Thanks for posting. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Just made this - rather than over rice I served it with Bombay Aloo (a potato dish; the BBC website has a good recibe for it) and it was a resounding success. Many thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Deeeeeelish - I totally cheated though... which meals that if this is followed precisely it should be 10 star worthy! I used ALL dried ingredients (I live in Podunk Town right next to Middleofnowhere Valley, so my selection is very limited). 1.5 tsp ground cardamom; Fennel (same); 6 tsp ground cloves; 1 entire cinnamon stick; Fenugreek & Peppercorn (same); 3 tsp ground coriander and cumin; and 1.5 cup coconut milk (no water); the remainder stayed the same. Very very very tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      We eat lots of curries and our usual question is "would you be happy paying for this at the local Indian restaurant"?. This one received a resounding "YES" from both of us. It's fabulous. Like Paula says, it's super quick to put together (I think the hardest thing was finding the various seeds and spices in the pantry) and tastes wonderful I made it for the two of us with all the spices and liquid and half the oil and meat (we love lots of sauce). And I'm not fond of cinnamon and especially the sticks, so I just used half a teaspoon of powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Goan Beef Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.4
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    40%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 210.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 51.1 g
    102%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cardamom pods

    cloves

    gingerroot

    creamed coconut

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites