Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Golden Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Golden Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      This was so delicious and good. I loved it alot and was a nice change from the usual. I did add the salt, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Something different from the usual plain basmati rice that I make. I would recommend using the salt. I also added in a chopped garlic clove at the beginning of cooking. We ate this with dahl. (lentils.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Nice side! I used ground cumin as dh prefers that to seeds in something like this. We found it did need salt and added accordingly. Thanks for a great rice side dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Very tasty rice, not overpowering but interesting. I used the brown rice setting on my rice cooker, and it took 1 1/2 hours to complete. I would add some Olivio or butter next time once cooking was completed. Made for I REDommend Tag, per the recommendation of Lynne the Pirate Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Wordeful rice! I used brown basmatti rice, one clove of garlic which I left it whole and I remove after cooking. I reduce the cloves to one. It was a nice change from the plain rice. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Excellent! We really enjoyed this. It's got great flavor, heavenly aroma, and inviting visual appeal. I used all brown basmati rice, onion powder, and used ground cumin and cloves instead of the cumin seed and whole cloves (I didn't relish the idea of coming across the random whole clove while eating); I found that using 1/2 teaspoon of cumin worked fine, as did 1/4 teaspoon of the cloves. I will make this again, that's for sure! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Not our favorite side dish, but it went perfectly with our Indian menu. It had a good texture and some flavors that we don't usually have in our meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I used brown and white basmati as suggested. Easy, delicious side dish that actually worked for a Mexican meal. Don't forget to remove the cloves before serving though! thanks cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      My husband really enjoyed this dish. He loves the flavor of cloves. I scaled back to 1 1/2 cups of rice and cooked it in my rice pot in the microwave. I used the onion powder option and I did add the salt. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Yummy Rice! Great technique, I had to turn off the rice on step 2 because it smelt like it was burning, however I did leave the pot on the stove for 20 minutes at Step 3. The rice was fluffy and yummy. We enjoyed the taste, subtle flavours but perfect to compliment any Indian Dish. Thank you White Rose Child

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Excellent! I used half and half brown/white basmati rice, added sea salt at the begining and it was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Beautiful color and great taste! Do add salt while cooking or afterward as my family thought it really needed it. I did not have any cumin seeds so I was unable to add these. Thanks for a really good versatile rice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I used this with a tuna and veggie stir fry tonight. I added a fair amount of garlic and used Jasmin rice. I found it went quite well with the stir fry and the color was so pretty with the greens, orange and white of the veggies and fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This rice was tasty! Had it with Spicy Indian-Style Skillet Chicken Biriyani! Used brown rice and I had to cook it longer (about 30 minutes). Would add a bit more spices next time. Thanks White Rose Child! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I made this to go with a curry. It was pretty good but I had expected it to be more flavourful. I may add a cinnamon stick to the mix next time. That being said, if your curry has a stong sauce, the mild taste of the rice will be the perfect compliment. I really liked the addition of the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Golden Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.5
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    20%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites