Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / I Love Palak Paneer (Spinach and Cheese Curry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Love Palak Paneer (Spinach and Cheese Curry)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2014

      Better than any restaurant version and a lot thriftier! I loved this recipe and it will become a part of my rotation. Yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I've enjoyed palaak paneer when I've had it in a restaurant but I've never made it myself. This recipe doe not disappoint. It's delicious. Made for ZWT8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      YUM! I made a double batch ... and good thing, too. Next time won't bother to chop the spinach and will serve it with something to add a little heat (for those who like heat). I made my own paneer using "Homemade Paneer" (#207389), also in a double batch. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

      This recipe really hits the spot. I'm not sure it tastes just like a restaurant, but it's good and satisfies my need. This is the second time I've made it. The first time I was lazy and added a little water to help my spinach wilt. I processed it roughly (like many of the photos) and used the full amount of cream. The result was pretty soupy and the consistency wasn't what I was looking for. It tasted more like creamed spinach with some indian spices. This time I didn't add any extra water, fully processed it, and added small amounts of cream until it was consistency I was looking for. I'm very happy with the outcome. I also had some Power Blend salad mix that I needed to use up, so that was my base for the second batch. I'd still plan to use spinach in the future to be more authentic, but I'm happy to know that it works well with other greens as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I followed the recipe with only one exception. I used baby spinach. I felt that this came out very bland. I served it with Chicken Tikka Masala Indian Basmati Rice and home made Naan. My guests were very impressed with everything but this dish. They politely said they felt it was missing something. I still have some paneer left so I am going to attempt this again. I love it in the restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      We liked this paneer recipe, but thought it needed a little more flavor, despite our increase of the garam masala. Adding salt and crushed red pepper flakes helped a little. Next time, I would add a chili pepper or two like another reviewer did. I liked that this recipe came together so easily, making it great for a weeknight meal. It was bright and colorful on the plate. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I really enjoyed this. It also gave me an excuse to make paneer. I love spinach in any form, and this was delicious. Made for ZWT8. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      made this with cottage cheese no cream because of cottage cheese good stuff
      made with Tasty Tandoori Sweet Potatoes by susied went together great zaar world tour 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I have never had paneer before and I love it! I made this as directed and blitzed the spinach mixture until smooth. I loved the colour which was great for the Colors Of India table-setting challenge for ZWT8. I would like it not blended too. Thanks Karen Elizabeth! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I managed to feed 7 with this! (with some rice but still!) Everybody loved it, the chilli lovers just cut up their own chillies and garnished their meals with it. Made for Zaar World Tour 8 and we very much enjoyed our trip to India. Served with Nimbu Ka Chaval (Saffron Rice With Lime)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This was so good! I had all the ingredients except the heavy cream, I used half and half which I wouldn't do again. I think I should have substituted yogurt. I made the paneer myself, first time and it also came out better than I expected. I added one jalapeno to the onion and would add two next time. The seasoning was spot on Karen! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      We love Palak Paneer too! This is my favorite dish at Indian Restaurants and now I can make it at home. I found a package of frozen "already fried & cubed paneer" and picked up some garam masala as well at a local Indian Market. I served this along with your recipe for Very Quick Butter Chickpeas and we had an Indian feast at home. We will definitely have this dish again. Made for AUS/NZ Tag Game, September, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Excellent. To my taste buddies, this was so good. I used homemade paneer, which was very easy to make. The only change I made was I didn't have fenugreek seeds, so I used the powder and only 1 tsp garam masala. But I doubt that made a huge difference - it was still delicious. I loved the blending of the spices and the addition of cream. This was easy and very quick to put together. Made for "More Than Just Curries" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Sensational recipe! This is one of the nicest spinach dishes I have ever eaten. I used baby spinach, so didn't bother to blend/process the cooked mixture. It took only minutes to prepare, and not much longer for the family to demolish it. I didn't have paneer on hand, so used haloumi, which worked well. You might update the recipe to say when to add the second half of the spinach. I added all of it at Step 2 with the lemon juice. Thanks for a delicious recipe that I will make again and again. As a matter of fact, I think I'll make it tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I do love Palak Paneer, its one of most ordered dish when we go out to Indian (Second to butter chicken). I have been wanting to try this recipe for a while, so I'm so glad I tagged it in the Aussie/Kiwi tag game. Bonus was Spinach is sale this week. I kept to the written recipe, even found paneer cheese. It's a very different cheese to ricotta or feta, it doesn't melt, keeps its shape when cooked and the flavour is also very different. I felt that is wasn't quite Authentic as the Palak Paneer I eat at the Indian restaurants, however it was very yummy and very satisfying. Served it with steam rice, naan bread and rita. Thank you so much for posting the recipe Karen Elizabeth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Very, simply, truly, and enchanting dish! I loved every single thing about this dish. The only small change was that I didn't or couldn't find fenugreek seeds, so just kept the cumin as the supporting spice. I could of (but didn't) eaten the whole thing, I love spinach, but held off for the rest of the family. I used fresh spinach just pulled from the garden, trimmed it, and went to the rest of the recipe. The cream is delightful, and so smooth....A treat for sure, and I thank you again for such a glorious recipe! Made for *Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap* Novembre 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      What an easy, satisfying and delicious recipe! The spices are very subtle, but you periodically get bursts of cumin and/or fenugreek to savor as make your way through this very luxurious dish. The heavy cream I used contributes to this effect, adding a touch of sweetness to the proceedings that I found delightful. Of course, these are just supporting actors for the main attraction - the interplay of spinach and paneer. The dark earthy tones of the spinach played very well with milky goodness of the paneer - a dialogue I feel would be overshadowed if the spices were altered (for example to add more heat). As it is, this is a dish I can feel confident in serving to people who are wary of Indian cuisine for that reason (it's too hot for them), or for those that realize there's a lot more to this fantastic and intriguing way of eating than the heat. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Love Palak Paneer (Spinach and Cheese Curry)

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.7
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    76%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 50.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 117.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    paneer cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites