13 Reviews

I fixed this as part of an Indian-themed dinner, and it was a bit hit. Everybody loved it -- even people who don't particularly like cauliflower. I used the apricot preserves rather than the chutney, and went light on the hot sauce. The result was a mild, sweet and sour flavor that went over in a big way.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElsaF June 22, 2003

I own a copy of "The Reader's Digest Live Longer Cookbook," and this is one of my favorite recipes in the entire book! Usually I use a big bag of frozen cauliflower because I'm too impatient to wait for the raw stuff to cook down. ;) I use either apricot preserves or homemade chutney, and often I'll toss in a chopped roasted eggplant if I want to make this a vegetarian main dish. YUM!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maura666 April 17, 2008

Delicious! I served this along with a tandoori chicken recipe I have and a recipe for Aloo Matar Ka Pulao (rice, potatoes and peas) that I found on this site,plus naan. What can I say? My family ate cauliflower. Is the earth still spinning on it's axis? The only other time my husband will eat cauliflower is smothered in cheese. This recipe is actually healthy AND they like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie September 05, 2011

My son loves cauliflower. I like it, but I love Indian food. I just wasn't crazy about this dish. Maybe it's just a personal preference of ours. Also, I didn't make any adjustments to the recipe and it appears that many of the other reviewers did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky February 18, 2011

Very nice! I usually make Aloo Gobi but I though this recipe sounded good so I thought I should try it....it was a wonderful change. Such a great medley of flavors.......I served it alongside Tikka Masala, basamati rice & samosas....fun was had by all!!!Thanks kindly:)Mmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 July 12, 2010

I loved this, i served it with an indian pilau, it was perfect. Not normally a large cauliflower eater yet this turned into something i had seconds of!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba May 31, 2010

ZWT6 Asian Region: I paired this with Grilled Hunan Chicken and it was outstanding! Packed with flavor - delicious new way now for me to serve cauliflower!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose May 20, 2010

An interesting change of pace for our table. We really love spicy Indian grilled chicken and this is a great accompaniment. We used the apricot preserves and will try it with the chutney somtime in the future. This dish contains many flavors we really enjoy and would be a recommended try in our book. Thanks for sharing! Made and reviewed for PAC Spring 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana April 24, 2009

I liked this a lot for a change- good way to use up cauliflower. I used a sweet onion and carmelized it first. I used a spicy mango chutney and a bit of turmeric. I found it needed more liquid, so i added 1 whole cup of chicken stock. Served it with indian fried rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama July 29, 2008

I halved this recipe for just my husband and myself. Followed it to a tee. I used mango chutney and a mild curry powder. As the numbered Chef said in their review, it was mild and sweet with a slight tang to it. My husband really enjoyed it. He would definitely have it again. It was OK for me but don't put stock in that, I'm just not wild about these flavors in general. Still, it's good to try something new. Thanks for posting. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph May 31, 2008
Indian-Style Cauliflower