Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Indian-Style Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian-Style Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2003

      I fixed this as part of an Indian-themed dinner, and it was a bit hit. Everybody loved it -- even people who don't particularly like cauliflower. I used the apricot preserves rather than the chutney, and went light on the hot sauce. The result was a mild, sweet and sour flavor that went over in a big way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      I own a copy of "The Reader's Digest Live Longer Cookbook," and this is one of my favorite recipes in the entire book! Usually I use a big bag of frozen cauliflower because I'm too impatient to wait for the raw stuff to cook down. ;) I use either apricot preserves or homemade chutney, and often I'll toss in a chopped roasted eggplant if I want to make this a vegetarian main dish. YUM!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Delicious! I served this along with a tandoori chicken recipe I have and a recipe for Aloo Matar Ka Pulao (rice, potatoes and peas) that I found on this site,plus naan. What can I say? My family ate cauliflower. Is the earth still spinning on it's axis? The only other time my husband will eat cauliflower is smothered in cheese. This recipe is actually healthy AND they like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      My son loves cauliflower. I like it, but I love Indian food. I just wasn't crazy about this dish. Maybe it's just a personal preference of ours. Also, I didn't make any adjustments to the recipe and it appears that many of the other reviewers did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Very nice! I usually make Aloo Gobi but I though this recipe sounded good so I thought I should try it....it was a wonderful change. Such a great medley of flavors.......I served it alongside Tikka Masala, basamati rice & samosas....fun was had by all!!!Thanks kindly:)Mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I loved this, i served it with an indian pilau, it was perfect. Not normally a large cauliflower eater yet this turned into something i had seconds of!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      ZWT6 Asian Region: I paired this with Grilled Hunan Chicken and it was outstanding! Packed with flavor - delicious new way now for me to serve cauliflower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      An interesting change of pace for our table. We really love spicy Indian grilled chicken and this is a great accompaniment. We used the apricot preserves and will try it with the chutney somtime in the future. This dish contains many flavors we really enjoy and would be a recommended try in our book. Thanks for sharing! Made and reviewed for PAC Spring 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I liked this a lot for a change- good way to use up cauliflower. I used a sweet onion and carmelized it first. I used a spicy mango chutney and a bit of turmeric. I found it needed more liquid, so i added 1 whole cup of chicken stock. Served it with indian fried rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I halved this recipe for just my husband and myself. Followed it to a tee. I used mango chutney and a mild curry powder. As the numbered Chef said in their review, it was mild and sweet with a slight tang to it. My husband really enjoyed it. He would definitely have it again. It was OK for me but don't put stock in that, I'm just not wild about these flavors in general. Still, it's good to try something new. Thanks for posting. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      What a great dish, and it's healthy, too! I used mango and ginger chutney, vegetable stock in place of the chicken stock, and added a little more curry powder and Tabasco. The sauce was quite delicious: mild and sweet, with a slight tanginess. Needless to say, I'll be making it again. Thanks, luvinlif2k!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I tripled the broth, sauce ingredients,added more chicken base and water, left out the peas and did not thicken the sauce or add the vinegar and hot pepper sauce. I cooked the cauliflower whole with core side up, then flipped over, total time, about 15 minutes with a cover over it simmered. I drained the cauliflower, saved the broth, added egg noodles and cooked the noodles in the broth until they were done. I sprinkled piemento strips and shredded carrots in the noodles before serving. Thanks for posting! Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I made this for a big family get-together that included my brother-in-law from India and everyone was pleasantly surprised and got seconds!! This is a great way to serve healthy cauliflower, for all the flavors combined are perfect, not too strong or weak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian-Style Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.7
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    23%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 322.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes