Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Mom's Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2012

      Yum!!!!! So easy! I used leftover chicken from a roasted chicken, last night and through in some red pepper flakes to spice it up even more. What a kick! Love this soooooooooo easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      I have to disagree with Leah, in my opinion this doesn't taste much like Coco Ichibanya at all (that place prompted my search for a curry I could make on my own-how else would I be able to have yummy curry after we move?). But, from what I can see this recipe wasn't shared as a copycat recipe of Coco Ichibanya. So, that being said, I think it was really good. I tried it after I made it, and wasn't impressed. Reheated for lunch the next day, and found it pretty appealing. It must be a curry-thing: try it once, diss it. Try it twice, it's ok. Try it 3 times, you love it! This recipe was easy to follow and I think it turned out pretty good. I added a bit more curry powder to mine, and since I couldn't decide if I wanted to go with just milk & broth or coconut milk & broth, I combined some of all 3 & that turned out well. Not sure if my husband will try it since he is hooked on Coco Ichibanya, but I think it will work fine for me when I no longer live on Okinawa and want some curry! Thank you for posting, this was easy & tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      We love curry (anyone who looks at my recipes has probably figured that out!!) but I must admit that sometimes I do tend to forget that simple ones are equally tasty too.
      This is very similar to one that I make already, with the exception of the milk. I would never have dreamed of using plain old cows milk (coconut being the obvious choice!), but it really is very good, and brings a nice subtle creaminess to the dish.
      I poached some chicken breasts off for this, and used the poaching liquor for the stock (very economical!).
      This dish has great flavour and so quick and easy that even my DH (the master of disaster when it comes to cooking!!) could probably pull this off with ease!!
      An absolute keeper, thanks Sweets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This is a very simple, easy, tasty curry. I altered to our tastes, but it would have been just as tasty as written. Used soy instead of regular milk, veggie chicken and McKay's chicken seasoning. Added a bit of coconut milk, garlic powder, and threw in some bok choy at the end. The bok choy did give it a hint of bitterness, so next time I will probably do spinach. I forgot to throw cashews on top~~maybe for leftovers tomorrow!! Thansk so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I thought it was really good and easy curry recipe--Loved the simplicity of it! I had to boil the final liquid mix a good 2-3 minutes before it thickened but that's the only change I made. I think I might add a little red pepper flakes to give it some more kick next time too. Definitely a good meal to have on hand when you want something different. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for curry now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Thanks for the simple and quick dinner! It was quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Wow! This gets 5 stars for being one of the fastest (and pretty yummy!) scratch dinners I've ever made. I bought a roasted chicken from the store and took the meat off it in the morning. Came home, started the rice in my rice cooker, chopped the onions in my mini cuisinart and literally threw the other ingredients together. My husband AND my 3 kids gave this dish 2 thumbs up each. We garnished it with chopped peanuts, cilantro and lime. I did add extra lemon as we like it a little more tart, otherwise, this is an easy, economical and tasty dish. Move over, tuna noodle casserole! I will keep this one forever. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      We cooked the chicken on our Cuisinart Griddler, so this recipe became even easier to pull together. Halved the recipe and used 3 chicken breasts, and we got four full servings out of it. Will definitely become a regular meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      My family loved this recipe - my kids even loved it. They wanted seconds. My husband loved to cook curry chicken, but his recipe is expensive, complicated, and takes a long time to make. I whipped this up one night in no time at all. My husband commented that he liked it better than his recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      We have this great curry restaurant here in Okinawa that everyone loves. In my opinion, this is just as good. Thank you for this amazing recipe. It's the closest I've come to duplicating Coco-ichibanya. Now when we move back to the States, I won't feel so bad when I am craving curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Great recipe and easy to make! I did mine a little differently, though. I cut up a raw chicken breast and just dumped it in while the sauce was thickening up (around step 5.) The pieces cooked in about five minutes and turned out great. I also added some chopped up habanero to give it a little extra bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Incredible! I added vegetables and some garlic and it was amazing! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      What an easy way to use up leftover chicken. I used scallion for the onion and added some crushed red pepper flakes and garlic as Kitten suggested. This was so easy and good. I don't think my kidseven knew it was revamped leftovers but DH and I liked it more than the kids did. I served this with white rice, steamed broccoli and Thai coleslaw. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Made this as is and it's just fabulous! Wouldn't even notice there's no coconut milk in it. Quick to make if you have cooked chicken already on hand. Great thing I had from last night. :D It's creamy, very yellow and simply delicious! It even brings back memories of the taste of chicken curry from this Asian restaurant I love to frequent out when I was a kid. Thank you for posting this recipe of your mom, SweetsLady! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This was thorougly enjoyed by the DS, DM and myself tonight for dinner. For dietary/allergy reasons I omitted the salt (did use salted butter though) and subbed spring onion/scallion for the onion. This recipe is very similar to one I already make but lighter and I found it equally delicious thank you. The only thing I did out of habit was to mix the curry powder (used a light mix as the DM isn't keen on spicy) with the flour and other seasonings and just added it to the spring onion after it cooked for a minute or so. Then I added the HEATED stock and milk in one lot and whisked (I always do it this way, as long as your liquid is warm you can add all at once and give a quick whisk and a smooth sauce you have). I did have some steamed cauliflower, brocolli and carrot left over which I added with the chicken to make a complete meal. Thank you SweetsLady for a great recipe. Made for Please Review My Recipe - tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This is an easy anyday recipe - one that can be whipped in no time flat by the time the rice is cooked dinner is done - what great flavors with the ginger and the little bit of sugar - the smooth and creamy sauce is great - thanks for the post!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      with a few amount adjustments and the addition of fresh garlic and crushed chili flakes sauteed with the onion, we enjoyed this dish, this *is* a great find for curry-lovers, thanks for sharing Sweets!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      What a great find! I made this dairy-free and wheat-free by substituting light coconut milk for the milk, soy margarine for the butter, and a gluten-free mix for the flour (allergies). I used the amount of salt originally called for (1 1/2 tsp) - for us 1 to 1 1/4 tsp would be perfect. This was easy, quick, and good - there's more flavor here than we expected from a pre-made curry spice mix. Served it over rice with raisins, bananas & canned pineapple chunks. Thank you - we'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      This is a delicious curry meal and everyone enjoys adding their own special condiments, which I like to have at least 5 choices. Here are some more choices that can be used: dates, chopped egg, sweet or sour pickles, sliced avocado, and chutney. Baked Bananas for dessert is a nice finish to this meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I tried this tonight and it was delicious!! I did however make a few changes, I skimped on the butter quite a bit- only used 2T. and it worked fine. Next time I might use olive oil instead of butter. I also used coconut milk instead of milk. I cant imagine making curry without coconut milk! My husband and I were also debating what other things we could top it with....peas, broccoli, carrots, mandarin oranges, cashews. It would be a great recipe for a dinner party because everyone could add the toppings to their liking. Very tasty- we will definitely be adding this one into our rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.7
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    46%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 90.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 556.9 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites