20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum!!!!! So easy! I used leftover chicken from a roasted chicken, last night and through in some red pepper flakes to spice it up even more. What a kick! Love this soooooooooo easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnab14 April 02, 2012

I have to disagree with Leah, in my opinion this doesn't taste much like Coco Ichibanya at all (that place prompted my search for a curry I could make on my own-how else would I be able to have yummy curry after we move?). But, from what I can see this recipe wasn't shared as a copycat recipe of Coco Ichibanya. So, that being said, I think it was really good. I tried it after I made it, and wasn't impressed. Reheated for lunch the next day, and found it pretty appealing. It must be a curry-thing: try it once, diss it. Try it twice, it's ok. Try it 3 times, you love it! This recipe was easy to follow and I think it turned out pretty good. I added a bit more curry powder to mine, and since I couldn't decide if I wanted to go with just milk & broth or coconut milk & broth, I combined some of all 3 & that turned out well. Not sure if my husband will try it since he is hooked on Coco Ichibanya, but I think it will work fine for me when I no longer live on Okinawa and want some curry! Thank you for posting, this was easy & tasted great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephieP February 15, 2012

We love curry (anyone who looks at my recipes has probably figured that out!!) but I must admit that sometimes I do tend to forget that simple ones are equally tasty too.
This is very similar to one that I make already, with the exception of the milk. I would never have dreamed of using plain old cows milk (coconut being the obvious choice!), but it really is very good, and brings a nice subtle creaminess to the dish.
I poached some chicken breasts off for this, and used the poaching liquor for the stock (very economical!).
This dish has great flavour and so quick and easy that even my DH (the master of disaster when it comes to cooking!!) could probably pull this off with ease!!
An absolute keeper, thanks Sweets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo October 02, 2010

This is a very simple, easy, tasty curry. I altered to our tastes, but it would have been just as tasty as written. Used soy instead of regular milk, veggie chicken and McKay's chicken seasoning. Added a bit of coconut milk, garlic powder, and threw in some bok choy at the end. The bok choy did give it a hint of bitterness, so next time I will probably do spinach. I forgot to throw cashews on top~~maybe for leftovers tomorrow!! Thansk so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins May 05, 2010

I thought it was really good and easy curry recipe--Loved the simplicity of it! I had to boil the final liquid mix a good 2-3 minutes before it thickened but that's the only change I made. I think I might add a little red pepper flakes to give it some more kick next time too. Definitely a good meal to have on hand when you want something different. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for curry now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
summerbreeze March 08, 2010

Thanks for the simple and quick dinner! It was quite good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilla November 22, 2009

Wow! This gets 5 stars for being one of the fastest (and pretty yummy!) scratch dinners I've ever made. I bought a roasted chicken from the store and took the meat off it in the morning. Came home, started the rice in my rice cooker, chopped the onions in my mini cuisinart and literally threw the other ingredients together. My husband AND my 3 kids gave this dish 2 thumbs up each. We garnished it with chopped peanuts, cilantro and lime. I did add extra lemon as we like it a little more tart, otherwise, this is an easy, economical and tasty dish. Move over, tuna noodle casserole! I will keep this one forever. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina May 11, 2009

We cooked the chicken on our Cuisinart Griddler, so this recipe became even easier to pull together. Halved the recipe and used 3 chicken breasts, and we got four full servings out of it. Will definitely become a regular meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roswell's Test Kitchen February 15, 2009

My family loved this recipe - my kids even loved it. They wanted seconds. My husband loved to cook curry chicken, but his recipe is expensive, complicated, and takes a long time to make. I whipped this up one night in no time at all. My husband commented that he liked it better than his recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Overton Fam January 14, 2009

We have this great curry restaurant here in Okinawa that everyone loves. In my opinion, this is just as good. Thank you for this amazing recipe. It's the closest I've come to duplicating Coco-ichibanya. Now when we move back to the States, I won't feel so bad when I am craving curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah947 October 17, 2008
Mom's Chicken Curry