Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / PANEER (Fresh Cheese) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    PANEER (Fresh Cheese)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2003

      This recipe turned out very well. It is very tasty, just like the restaurant variety. It was easy to make and the directions are very clear. This cheese is fun to make, my children thought it was interesting that I was making cheese. I will do this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      this was my husband's and my fun project for the night. since this was our first attempt, we regarded it as a trial so i halved the recipe. it's a very instructive recipe with lucid directions easy enough for a novice to follow. we did the math and figured it makes economical sense, as this is much cheaper than store-bought paneer for us. having said that, the texture is not as smooth as the storebought one - this is a more crumbly. my first instinct was that it might be more suited to paneer burji (scrambled paneer) or kofta, but after some time with a weight over it, it did seem to smoothen - i hope it holds its shape when it is being fried. tomorrow i will try the paneer in a curry...fingers crossed (edited to add: refrigerated overnight, it firmed up beautifully, not crumbly at all, and tasted fresher and creamy than its readymade counterpart. will only be using homemade paneer from now on)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I have been wanting to make paneer for a while, and this was so simple and fun to make. The end product was smooth and firm. The only problem is that I can't decide what I want to use it for! Palak Paneer, Gulab Jamun....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Very very nice. I used 1% milk and lemon juice, love the flavour. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Yummy Yummy. This is so much easier than you think. Perfect results. I'll use this forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Wow, this is so tasty. Very easy to make too. Mine came out very creamy after kneading and letting it sit overnight in the refrigerator. I tried having this as is and also fried. The texture is very different when fried in oil - very airy and light while they are still hot. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This is really good, very similar to restaurant paneer! Mine did not get very solid, and I had a hard time pressing it. But, that was my fault and not the recipes. Thanks for the yummy paneer recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Easy and tasty.. We use it in Sue L's Palak Paneer. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      This was easy! I have tried a few other paneer recipes where the cheese just did not turn out for me. Looks like the slow simmer after adding the lemon juice/vinegar was the key (other recipes instructed to remove from heat immediately after adding lemon juice). I skipped the blending and went straight to the draining instructions. I'm going to divide and freeze the block I just made to use as needed in other recipes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      This was very good and so easy to make! I added some yellow food coloring to make saffron-colored paneer to use in Fragrant Paneer Rice, and it was lovely. I also made rasmalai, which was WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      Yummy!Very nice recipe. I did add a tsp of salt to the recipe. Incidentally my Armenian grandmother tells me that 'Paneer' means Cheese in Armenian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for PANEER (Fresh Cheese)

    Serving Size: 1 (3957 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.2
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    51%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 18.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 63.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites