Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Samosa Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Samosa Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2010

      This pie is amazing. I experimented on my partner first because I wanted to make samosas for a dinner party but realized it would be too much work. I found out This is the perfect alternative to the real thing! Plus making the dough in the food processor was genius. I didn't time it but I think it took less than 2 minutes for the dough. Awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This is a lovely pie! I served it with Onion Bhajees (Onion Bhajees), yogurt, and various chutneys and relishes. Everyone in the house loved it. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Sorry we didn't really care for this, it was just too much potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Loved it! I had a pie crust in the freezer so I made your filling and topped it with a frozen pie crust.
      It was delicious drizzled with a tamarind dipping sauce!
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Made this for my boyfriend who introduced me to samosa's. We had it with chicken tikka masala, naan and lots of green chutney! It was very good, but not quite the same flavor as the samosa's from our favorite Indian palce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      FANTASTIC recipe! Followed this almost exactly to a T - the combo of spices and lemon juice here is just perfect. I did not make my own pastry though because I am way too lazy to make my own especially since there are so many suitable ready-made alternatives readily and cheaply available at the supermarket. I also skipped the egg wash because eggs repulse me, I brushed it with a tiny bit of vegetable oil instead and it was lovely. You do use a lot of potatoes in this recipe - so be prepared to do a lot of peeling! I think that this would be a great dish to serve to nonadventurous people who are afraid to try Indian food - it is a wonderful introduction to one of the best world cuisines. I made this for my boyfriend (a samosa addict in dire need of a 12-step program) for Valentines' Day. The boy went nuts! I will make this again for sure. Next time, I will serve this with tamarind and mint chutneys - it needs a fruity sauce to really bring out the full flavor. Thank you for posting this recipe, glad to have found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      Very good recipe, I have made it once following your recipe precisely, it was great And I have made it once but added cooked chopped Pork Tenderloin, that was good too Its an excellent recipe And I will be making it again & again Thanks for sharing Steve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This was a wonderful dish! Rich, flaky pastry on the outside and spicy, savory potatos within! Served it with a spinach raita (yoghurt salad) and homemade indian-style tomato ketchup. Yum! - What I made different: I halfed the recipe for the two of us, using a 7 inch springform, but using the whole cooking time and 3/4 of the dough, cooked in the lower third of the oven. I recommend putting some aluminium foil under the form, because some of the butter in the dough baked out and dripped into my oven. When I was ready to make the filling I found that I was out of curry powder, but since almost all of its ingredients were already in the recipe, I felt save to go without it. I reduced the amount of red pepper to our timid tastebuds ( only half) and used 2/3 of the lemon juice. I will certainly make it again, this time perhaps with the curry powder, though I did not miss it. Thank you, abloom for a nice addition to my cookbook. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Samosa Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 607.3
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    46%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 84.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 193.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites