Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Indian / Stir-Fried Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stir-Fried Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2009

      DH and I made this stir-fried shrimp dish for lunch today. We enjoyed it, but felt something was missing. I made no alterations to the recipe and even included the fresh curry leaves. I wonder if it is because I used lite unsweetened coconut milk---maybe it was supposed to be sweetened? The recipe did not state. Anyway, we did like the dish and thought it was really easy to prepare. We served it over jasmine rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

    • on March 21, 2010

      I left out the chile due to allergies, but used the larger amount of cayenne. The dish was unpleasantly hot - will use the lesser amount of cayenne next time. (DH is a chili-head, and even he also complained about the cayenne overpowering the other seasonings.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I could live on this dish. It is absolutely wonderful. I made it as written, and did a double batch. It was served as part of an Indian banquet and it was the star attraction. Thank you so very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This is THE best shrimp dish ever. I call it The Boyfriend Shrimp Dish because if I really like a guy, I make this shrimp dish...and the rest is history. It is soothing with the cream, spicy, delicious with the mustard seeds adding just a little bite. The garam masala is earthy and warm, the tomato adds a touch of sweet and tangy...all in all, it's one of those dishes where you'll have not just seconds, but thirds and fourths. Be forewarned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Normally we go out to dinner on Saturday night. Tonight, we opted to stay in and cook this. Well, we ended up bringing the restaurant into our home. This dish is absolutely wonderful. It's easy and quick enough to do on a weeknight and it's also great for company you want to impress. I followed the recipe exact, except no cilantro and no curry leaves. (The ones I had weren't in the best shape) and I added about 1/2 c of peas, b/c I didn't have quite enough shrimp. Served over brown rice and it had both DH and I swooning. Try this- you will be glad you did. PS: spices, cooking times, and method are right on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      I'm not giving this stars because I changed the recipe so much it might not be recognizable. I did want to thank you for posting this recipe because it was the inspiration for a GREAT meal. I substituted curry for the garam masala, left out the cumin, used fresh basil instead of cilantro , used 1/2 a jalapeno instead of chili and just stir fried the shrimp with garlic only. I served it with steamed rice and spinach and it was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      WOW...now this is a 5* plus recipe!! The sauce is to die for...I could eat just the sauce over rice! There isn't anything that needs changing...it's perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      If we could give this more stars, we would. This is a full flavoured, taste sensation that's easy to prepare and cook up. It had just the right amount of bite (heat) for us - we do like a bit of a bite but not so hot you're reaching for something to cool it down with. Not having fresh curry leaves or even dried, I added about 1/2 tsp of red curry paste. Served it with Artichoke & Crab Twice Baked Potatoes and the two sauces, from different countries with very different cuisines, merged beautifully! This is definitely our favourite recipe of the ZWT4 tour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This might be the best recipe of the whole tour! It's very quick to make, with an intense and creamy flavour. I used light coconut milk, and the sauce was still very rich. I also used dried curry leaves as I was out of fresh, but next time I'll definitely use fresh. YUM! Thanks pattikay! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stir-Fried Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.0
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    55%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 216.0 mg
    72%
    Sodium 706.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites