10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH and I made this stir-fried shrimp dish for lunch today. We enjoyed it, but felt something was missing. I made no alterations to the recipe and even included the fresh curry leaves. I wonder if it is because I used lite unsweetened coconut milk---maybe it was supposed to be sweetened? The recipe did not state. Anyway, we did like the dish and thought it was really easy to prepare. We served it over jasmine rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 06, 2009

I left out the chile due to allergies, but used the larger amount of cayenne. The dish was unpleasantly hot - will use the lesser amount of cayenne next time. (DH is a chili-head, and even he also complained about the cayenne overpowering the other seasonings.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower March 21, 2010

I could live on this dish. It is absolutely wonderful. I made it as written, and did a double batch. It was served as part of an Indian banquet and it was the star attraction. Thank you so very much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 07, 2010

This is THE best shrimp dish ever. I call it The Boyfriend Shrimp Dish because if I really like a guy, I make this shrimp dish...and the rest is history. It is soothing with the cream, spicy, delicious with the mustard seeds adding just a little bite. The garam masala is earthy and warm, the tomato adds a touch of sweet and tangy...all in all, it's one of those dishes where you'll have not just seconds, but thirds and fourths. Be forewarned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokeytracy November 25, 2008

Normally we go out to dinner on Saturday night. Tonight, we opted to stay in and cook this. Well, we ended up bringing the restaurant into our home. This dish is absolutely wonderful. It's easy and quick enough to do on a weeknight and it's also great for company you want to impress. I followed the recipe exact, except no cilantro and no curry leaves. (The ones I had weren't in the best shape) and I added about 1/2 c of peas, b/c I didn't have quite enough shrimp. Served over brown rice and it had both DH and I swooning. Try this- you will be glad you did. PS: spices, cooking times, and method are right on. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM November 01, 2008

I'm not giving this stars because I changed the recipe so much it might not be recognizable. I did want to thank you for posting this recipe because it was the inspiration for a GREAT meal. I substituted curry for the garam masala, left out the cumin, used fresh basil instead of cilantro , used 1/2 a jalapeno instead of chili and just stir fried the shrimp with garlic only. I served it with steamed rice and spinach and it was terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! October 09, 2008

WOW...now this is a 5* plus recipe!! The sauce is to die for...I could eat just the sauce over rice! There isn't anything that needs changing...it's perfect! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 11, 2008

If we could give this more stars, we would. This is a full flavoured, taste sensation that's easy to prepare and cook up. It had just the right amount of bite (heat) for us - we do like a bit of a bite but not so hot you're reaching for something to cool it down with. Not having fresh curry leaves or even dried, I added about 1/2 tsp of red curry paste. Served it with Artichoke & Crab Twice Baked Potatoes and the two sauces, from different countries with very different cuisines, merged beautifully! This is definitely our favourite recipe of the ZWT4 tour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC July 12, 2008

This might be the best recipe of the whole tour! It's very quick to make, with an intense and creamy flavour. I used light coconut milk, and the sauce was still very rich. I also used dried curry leaves as I was out of fresh, but next time I'll definitely use fresh. YUM! Thanks pattikay! Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz July 08, 2008
Stir-Fried Shrimp in Aromatic Tomato Cream Sauce