11 Reviews

I used this marinade on flattened chicken breast strips grilled on skewers and it was fantastic: aromatic, flavorful, tangy. I added garlic powder, ground red pepper and some coriander (had no coriander/cilantro leaves and didn't miss them). I had marinated the meat for 2 days and brushed it w/ butter when it was almost done grilling - breast is so lean. We had the chicken w/ basmati rice cooked in broth & butter and hot mango pickle. Good good good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah May 01, 2012

just finished serving this up. It was an absolute hit. Instead of cauliflower I used chickpeas and potatoes and added garlic (6cloves) I made enough for a family of 6 I have no left overs even the pan has been wiped clean. Thank you for posting this recipe Charisma. We will definetly be making this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N. Lavendula June 09, 2010

We did a vegetable medley instead of pure cauliflower, but wowsa! We loved it at our house. I would like to find more ways to use this sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisebradbie February 02, 2010

I loved this cauliflower. I made some changes... but only becausely I had two different recipes up and I accidently looked at the other recipe. LOL! So I sauteed onion and garlic and dried red pepper before I realized my mistake but it was still wonderful. I also grated some fresh ginger into the saute instead of using it as a garnish. I had greek 0% yogurt so that is what I used, I think it could have been better if I had used a full fat version, but hey its January and I'm watching calories. Also the greek yogurt is so thick that I needed a little broth to thin out the marinde when I added it tot the pan. Thanks so much for posting. Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peacefulone January 10, 2010

Very good. I served it with Worth it Curry to company last night and even the person who doesn't like cauliflower said he liked it! Since I didn't have any coriander leaves and we like mild food I left the garnishes out but nobody seemed to think it was lacking in the least. I also used garam masala instead of tandoori because it was all I had. Even with the changes it was a great success and I will certainly be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid May 24, 2009

Really unique recipe for oft-thought boring cauliflower. Very simple to make. My changes: Fat free yogurt and instead of garnishing with the ginger, chilies and coriander, I cooked everything together. It didn't take as long to cook as I'd expected, but then again, we like our veggies with a bit of a crunch. I'd serve this to company. DH enjoyed it too- but says 3 stars is it for now- we'll have to eat it again to see if we can go higher! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM September 07, 2007

I used tandoori masala and loved it just as much. Its very easy and a nice change for the often overlooked cauliflower.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBostonBean November 16, 2005

We enjoyed this very much. I was not able to find tandoori garam masala, so I used 'normal' garam masala instead, and hope you consider it a suitable substitute. I am giving this 4 stars merely because the preparation and cooking time given appears to be over estimated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream January 09, 2005

Extraordinarily delicious! This was fantastic and easy to make. The only problem was that I worried the whole time that I was burning it, but it came out wonderfully. I did add a touch more yogurt and tomato paste to the pot at one point. I cooked the cauliflower for about 50 minutes, but it could have used a few minutes more for the bigger pieces. I left out the green chilies. I will definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipemonkey January 04, 2005

This was a very good dish. I saved some time by lightly steaming the cauliflower beforehand and I also used regular garam masala. Because we like a lot of sauce, I added an extra cup of yogurt and 1 additional teaspoon of masala, but omitted the ginger as I felt the dish tasted great without it. This actually ended up marinating all day before I had a chance to cook it and what a flavor! Thanks for posting, Charishma. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid August 28, 2007
Tandoori Masala Gobhi(Tandoori Masala in Yoghurt Cauliflower)